Sweeney Todd - Original Broadway Cast Recording Two Vinyl Albums

Sweeney Todd - Original Broadway Cast Recording Two Vinyl Albums
Click to enlarge

More images

Click to enlarge
Price: $20.00
E-mail to a friend



Sweeney Todd - Original Broadway Cast Recording Two Vinyl Albums

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street is a 1979 musical thriller with music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim and book by Hugh Wheeler. The musical is based on the 1973 play Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street by Christopher Bond. Sweeney Todd opened on Broadway in 1979 and in the West End in 1980. It won the Tony Award for Best Musical and Olivier Award for Best New Musical. It has since had numerous revivals as well as a film adaptation.

The original production premiered on Broadway at the Uris Theatre on March 1, 1979 and closed on June 29, 1980 after 557 performances and 19 previews. Directed by Hal Prince and choreographed by Larry Fuller, the scenic design was by Eugene Lee, costumes by Franne Lee and lighting by Ken Billington. The cast included Angela Lansbury as Mrs. Lovett, Len Cariou as Todd, Victor Garber as Anthony, Sarah Rice as Johanna, Merle Louise as the Beggar Woman, Ken Jennings as Tobias, Edmund Lyndeck as Judge Turpin, Joaquin Romaguera as Pirelli, and Jack Eric Williams as Beadle Bamford. The production was nominated for nine Tony Awards, winning eight including Best Musical. Dorothy Loudon and George Hearn replaced Lansbury and Cariou on March 4, 1980.

The first national U.S. tour started on October 24, 1980, in Washington, D.C. and ended in August 1981 in Los Angeles, California. Lansbury was joined by Hearn and this version was taped during the Los Angeles engagement and broadcast on The Entertainment Channel (one of the predecessors of today's A&E) on September 12, 1982. This performance would later be repeated on Showtime and PBS (the latter as part of its Great Performances series); it was later released on home video through Turner Home Entertainment, and on DVD from Warner Home Video.

This is a two-LP set. The album cover opens up to reveal more images from the film. The vinyls and cover and booklet are in mint condition with more pictures and lyrics to all the songs!!

Songs on Album:

Side One
01. Prelude - Attend The Tale Of Sweeney Todd 3:35
02. No Place Like London 3:39
03. The Barber And His Wife 2:41
04. The Worst Pies In London 2:26
05. Poor Thing 3:28
06. My Friends 2:43
07. Lift Your Razor High, Sweeney! 0:55
08. Green Finch And Linnet Bird 2:30
09. Ah, Miss 2:23
10. Johanna 1:58

Side Two
11. Pirelli's Miracle Elixir 3:50
12. The Contest 5:11
13. Sweeney Pondered And Sweeney Planned... 0:31
14. Wait 2:18
15. His Hands Were Quick, His Fingers Strong... 0:40
16. Johanna 3:40
17. Kiss Me! 1:31
18. Ladies In Their Sensitivities 3:58

Side Three
19. Pretty Women 4:39
20. Epiphany 3:18
21. A Little Priest 6:28
22. God, That's Good! 5:29
23. Johanna 3:33

Side Four
24. By The Sea 3:39
25. Wigmaker Sequence
26. The Letter
27. Sweeney'd Waited Too Long Before... 3:57
28. Not While I'm Around 3:25
29. Parlor Songs 13:22
30. Final Sequence 13:22
31. Attend The Tale Of Sweeney Todd...  


Products You May Also Like

New York, New York - The Original Motion Picture Score Vinyl Album
New York, New York - The Original Motion Picture Score Two-Disc Vinyl Album...
Zubin Mehta - Star Wars And Close Encounters Vinyl Album
Zubin Mehta Conducts Suites From Star Wars And Close Encounters Vinyl Album...
Liza Minnelli - Liza with a Z Vinyl Album
Thankful Vinyl Album by Natlie Cole 1997 Thankful could be subtitled the...